Workin’ it on out

I got my booty in gear today and ran a couple miles.

Hollaaaaaaaaaa! Look at me, keepin’ up with my goals and priorities. πŸ™‚

So you know how I’m too much of a wimp to run outside in the winter, right? Thus, I ran at the community center today… on a treadmill. I’ve walked on treadmills before, but never ran. I was always (justifiably) afraid that my uncoordinated self would lose focus and fall off the back of the dang thing. But I mustered up some courage & balance today and tried it out. It wasn’t that bad! It was actually kind of fun, but weird because the whole time I was thinking “I’m not going anywhere! I’m running and I’m seriously not going anywhere!” I felt like it was easier to zone out though because I could just focus my eyes on one point and run, run, run.

I should note that I’m not just running for the sake of working out. I have an ulterior motive. Rumor has it that exercise might be able to help out endometriosis. Who knows, but I’m willing to try anything. (This is the same reason I eat sardines or herring at least once a week… something about omega oils…) So, fingers crossed, and hey – we all have our reasons for trying to be healthy right? Seriously, I don’t know many people who are in relatively good health who work out or eat well just for the heck of it. (Except my husband – he loves vegetables. Crazy.) It seems like there’s always a reason. Endo is mine. What’s yours?

Alright, well, time to go work on another priority: STUDYING!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Krista on February 9, 2011 - 7:10 pm

    I think my reason is probably my competitive spirit. I always want to be in shape enough that I can play a competitive game of basketball, or volleyball, or whatev. Is that totally ridiculous?

    • #2 by seemelrun on February 9, 2011 - 8:57 pm

      nope – this is a completely un-ridiculous reason. πŸ™‚

  2. #3 by Krista on February 9, 2011 - 8:31 pm

    I’m a total dork. I forgot the main reason I work out- it helps my mood. Physical activity often minimizes my depressive feelings in the morning.

    • #4 by seemelrun on February 9, 2011 - 8:59 pm

      haha, yeah, I’ve seen this evidenced in myself too. Unfortunately, I never realize it until I haven’t been working out for a while and I’m all ‘what is wrooong with me? I’m so saaaad.’ And then I run or something and feel fabulous again.

Leave a Reply

