30 x 5 =

Healthy!

(source)

So it’s that time of month again … goal-setting time! As I sat down today to write out what I want to do and accomplish in November I couldn’t stop thinking about the assignment I did for my Aging class yesterday. I had to map out a Health Promotion plan for myself and also evaluate a journal article regarding a health item that needs to be promoted with the older adult population – I chose exercise. I reviewed an article from The Journals of Gerontology that studied older master athletes (65+). It was discovered that older athletes who engaged in chronic (consistent) exercise, specifically resistance training, had significantly better muscle mass, strength, and contraction characteristics, as well as increased maximal oxygen consumption (VO2max) in comparison to their sedentary peers. They also found that the older master athletes had better muscle condition young sedentary individuals.

What?!

Some female 70-year-old weight lifter might have better muscle condition than me?

I gotta do something about that! The only way for any adult to maintain proper nutrition and good health is to get at least 30 minutes of moderate exercise five days a week. It sounds like a lot but it is completely achievable. If I have time to watch a show on TV, I have time to exercise. And really, what is thirty minutes if it means greater longevity and well-being? I can come up with every excuse in the book, but I would be doing myself a huge disservice. It’s time to get movin’ y’all!

So I’m declaring the month of November the 30 x 5 Movement Challenge. I will do at least 30 minutes of exercise five days a week. I’ve discovered one of the best ways to make sure I do something is to tell people I’m going to do it because then I’m accountable and if I don’t do it I’ll feel like an idiot. So here I am, telling you I’m going to attack the 30 x 5 challenge this month.

If taking care of my body wasn’t a good enough reason to get movin’, I feel as a nursing student I ought to be setting an example for living healthfully so I can encourage others to do the same. So wish me luck and join me in the challenge if you like! Today I went on a lovely 30 minute jog and I’m excited for the rest of the month!

“The inclusion of regular physical activity into our daily lives is the greatest weapon that we have against the onset of age-related disease and disability.” —Online Journal of Issues in Nursing

  1. #1 by Kayla on November 2, 2010 - 6:50 am

    Count me in, sister. Strength in numbers, no? 🙂

  1. Odds and ends + an ode to Chipotle |
  2. Balancing Act « See Mel Run

Leave a Reply

