Well hello, life!

I’ve been taking a much needed break from “the Inter-web” (<– heard that on the show Scrubs and thought it was hilarious), trying to focus on recovering from the Endo and just getting some stuff done. But now – I’m BACK!

I’m feeling 600% better after a few painful weeks on the couch culminating in a burst ovarian cyst (gross, right?!). It was as if my life stalled for a while and I’m finally living again. You have no idea how wonderful it is to have the energy to do things and to get out of the house. It’s SO great and I am extremely grateful! I went for my first “real” run in about 3 weeks yesterday (I’m not counting the 5 minute trial run I had a few days ago). I felt ALIVE. I ran 1.9 miles which I’m pretty pleased with seeing as how I’d spent most of my time on the sofa lately. Again, I can’t stress how beautiful the days are when I feel well. Everyone: don’t take your health for granted! Cherish it! Use it! You never know when you might lose it, so enjoy it while y’all got it!

OK, I’m off my soapbox now. Here’s a couple things I’d been thinking about blogging, but hadn’t since I was on said Inter-web break:

1. We all know October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month and I just want to take a minute recognize all the strong sisters out there who have had, or are currently struggling with, breast cancer. It is a terrible disease that affects millions of women in one of the most invasive ways possible. I’ve been pretty impressed with the huge steps the media and the NFL has taken to raise awareness. Hopefully a lot of money can be raised to support more research for treatment and better screening methods.2. My grandma gave me the best Peach Cobbler recipe and I wanted to share it with y’all since it is so easy and delish. Grandma’s just know best when it comes to cooking. So here it is:

Mamma’s Peach Cobbler
1/4 cup butter
1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
dash salt
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
2/3 cup milk
1 (29-oz.) can sliced peaches (or if they’re in season you can totally use fresh peaches)

Melt the butter in a 9×13″ baking dish. Mix the dry ingredients together and blend in milk. Pour into baking dish. Place peaches and juice on top. Do not stir – the batter will rise to the top while baking. Bake in 350 degree oven for 40 minutes or until golden brown. Enjoy!

Well, that’s all for now folks, hope your week is off to a smashing start. Happy Columbus day!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

