The 5K that got away…

There once was a young woman named Mel
who thought running her third 5K would be swell.

She trained to win,
then her week took a spin.

The notorious endometriosis,
with its ways so atrocious,

Rendered her unfit
to run even a bit.

So instead…
she spent the day in bed.

And that was the day
the 5K got away.

And so life goes… I was really looking forward to setting a new PR at the annual Run For Freedom 5K today, put on by the Missouri Veterans Home, but it just wasn’t meant to be. I’m still trying to listen to and care for my body and just take it pretty easy until the pain is past. In the meantime, I keep staring at my running shoes and leg sleeves, longing to take them out for a spin.

They keep taunting me, but they’ll just have to wait a little longer.

  1. #1 by kathy doss on October 2, 2010 - 4:38 pm

    I love your transparency and read what is going on with you. Thanks for sharing.

    • #2 by seemelrun on October 4, 2010 - 12:36 pm

      Thanks for your comment Kathy, I appreciate your support!

  2. #3 by Kristy W. on October 2, 2010 - 5:25 pm

    I’m sorry you aren’t able to run right now. 😦 I feel bad. I hope you start to feel better soon!! Just hang in there! 🙂

    • #4 by seemelrun on October 4, 2010 - 12:37 pm

      I’m just going to have to live vicariously through you girl!

Leave a Reply

