Ain’t no skeletons in THIS closet!

My husband is getting promoted soon and I feel like this is such a huge accomplishment for him. He acts like it isn’t any big deal, but I am SO proud of him and how far he’s come in his career. To celebrate this, we’re hosting a lot of family – his parents, my parents, and my grandparents. So to recap: Promotion coming up. Upcoming promotion = family.  And…

Family = cleaning.

The whole house.

Even… the dreaded closets. Including… the guest room closet. My nemesis. The secret place I stash/shove/throw stuff into before guests come over. The place no one will ever see. Unless they’re staying in my guest room. Like my parents-in-law will be when they arrive. (Note: if you have ever stayed in my guest room before today, I pray you didn’t look in the closet.) I don’t know if I can accurately describe the random and disorganized array of CRAP in there! I’ll just make a long story short and say I have three (THREE!) garbage bags of things to take to Goodwill after hacking my way through the guest closet, the guest bathroom linen closet, and my closet. And mind you all those closets are still full. Whew!

I always say I am so happy I live in a relatively small house so I simply can’t accumulate a ton of stuff, yet clearly I still manage to stash a-plenty. This is a stupid problem to have. Whenever I go on a cleaning/organizing rampage like this I’m always astounded at my ability to obtain so many material goods. Useless things for the most part. Or useful things that I already have 5 of (coats/sets of sheets/decorative pillows/etc). What’s my deal? My small house is huge in comparison to most in the world, and I just fill it up with stuff. Stuff that I don’t use, and that other people in the world would die to have. What would it look like if instead of filling my house with stuff, I filled it with love and hospitality and people and spent my money on more useful things, like helping others.

So maybe there are skeletons in my closet after all. Skeletons of materialism, selfishness, and lack of sharing. Imagine the meals I could’ve bought a family in Guatemala with the hundreds of dollars I spent on three garbage bags full of stuff that was just sitting in my closet.

Wow, my closet cleaning post has turned in to closet confessions! 🙂 Anyway, it’s just food for thought, you know? A reminder to me of what I spend my money on. And often the stuff I spend my money on shows what I care about. I would rather my money say I care about people, not stuff.

What’s in your closet?

  1. #1 by Kayla on September 24, 2010 - 7:36 am

    To take the “closet” thing literal:

    Sometimes I think “Gosh, I really wish I could go shopping. I could use a new pair of shoes. And my dresses? I’ve worn each about 10 times. Or maybe some new jeans! Yeah, I really need to go shopping”. Then I go look in my closet and see a vast array of clothing, most of which I hardly ever wear. It gets cleaned out every season, but is still full, and I still feel like I need more stuff. AGH! Every time I get into that funk I think of how incredibly blessed I am to have so much crap. I mean, I have 20 pairs of shoes. Some people don’t have a single pair. And I have the ability to afford pretty dresses. Some people will never have that luxury.

    As silly as the above might sound, it’s times like that where things get put into perspective for me. I live a very financially blessed life. Don’t get me wrong, I’m far from rich, but farther from poor. I should be very thankful for the blessings I have, rather than wish for more, more, more.

Leave a Reply

