Woman Up!

“You can do it!”

“You’re stronger than this!”

“Of course it hurts! Stop being a baby!”

“Nothing great comes easy!”

“WOMAN UP!”

And so went my inner dialogue while running yesterday. As I headed out for my hot, insanely windy run, I vowed to be my own personal trainer because I knew it was going to be hard (3.9 miles!) Believe it or not, internally screaming these phrases actually gave me a lot of motivation. As I turned around at the halfway point I was really feeling it. I was still a bit sore from the cross-training cycle the day before and the hot sun and blasting wind was tearing me up. My heart rate was getting really high and as much as I kept yelling at myself, my internal caretaker started kicking in. “Listen to your body! You need to walk & get your heart rate down!” So I did. Which I hated.

Listening to my body sucks. Because usually what it tells me makes me feel weak. I hate feeling weak. So as I listened to my body I also started beating myself up with some negative self-talk.

What kind of crap is that? Negative self-talk is one of the most destructive things a person can engage in. Nothing good ever comes of it, and usually it just makes you feel like a failure.

So. I decided that while my body felt weak, my mind was strong and I could choose to woman up and kick this negativity’s butt. I started telling myself positive things. “You CAN do it. So what if you need to take a break? This is training, not a race! You’ve only been seriously running for two months. TWO months! You can’t expect your body to perform like someone who’s been running for years. You’re doing great! You’re moving WAY more than you were a year ago. You should be proud that you listened to your body rather than hurting yourself.”

And you know what? Before I knew it, I was done, and I felt fantastic. I didn’t finish as fast as I would like but who cares? I’m going at my own pace and hey – at least I’m going! I completed 3.9 miles in 45 minutes. Not too shabby!

Negativity is one of my biggest struggles but I’m starting to realize the the harder I am on myself, the worse I feel, and the weaker I am. It’s harder but far more beneficial to stay positive. And the more positive self-talk I engage in, the easier it gets and the more I benefit from it.

What kind of positive things do you say that keep you going?

“Instead of giving myself reasons why I can’t, I give myself reasons why I can.” – Author Unknown

  1. #1 by Kristy W. on September 22, 2010 - 2:40 pm

    Love this post! 🙂 Today as I was running (indoors) I got a pain in my left shoulder and tried running through it. I don’t even know how that happens, but it hurt and I know I needed to slow down. I just adjusted my pace, but I was like “Suck it up Woman!” lol I think I will try positive talk next time. Awesome job on the run, though!! You ARE doing great, looks like you are going to smoke me at the 5K next Saturday! 🙂

    • #2 by seemelrun on September 22, 2010 - 7:17 pm

      haha Kristy love the “suck it up!” 🙂 Girl, I have a sneaky feeling we’re going to be neck and neck with your determination!

  2. #3 by Krista on September 22, 2010 - 3:47 pm

    This is a FABULOUS post. I especially love usage of the phrase “woman up”:)

    To help myself keep going I remember a few things: 1- my sister once told me “you always have more than you think you do” (which I’ve realized is true), on a similar note, in the movie Gattaca, the ‘weaker’ brother always beats the ‘stronger’ one at swimming and when the stronger one asks how, the weaker one says “I never save enough for the way back”. 2- I tell myself to “gut it out” and 3- I remind myself that “pain is weakness leaving the body”.

    Keep up the amazing work- so proud of you for doing nearly 4 miles!!!

    • #4 by seemelrun on September 22, 2010 - 7:16 pm

      Thanks Kris (kind of borrowed “woman up” from you)! 🙂 Just like I’m going to borrow your “pain is weakness leaving the body” quote!

  3. #5 by Kayla on September 22, 2010 - 4:52 pm

    Oh girl, what an amazing perspective.

    When I’m out there having a tough (or awesome) ride, I think about how far I’ve come! Like “I could have never done this 4 months ago!”. And I try to remember people who don’t have the ability/gift to do what I’m doing. It immediately makes me grateful for the blessing to move, work out, and make my body and mind healthy.

    It’s all about perspective. Most people cannot run 3.9 miles, or would dread every minute of it. You have the strength and courage to get out there and give it your best. And for that, I commend and respect you 😀

    • #6 by seemelrun on September 22, 2010 - 7:14 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement and the great reminder to count my blessings! I really am so thankful for what I’m able to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

