Setting Goals = Accomplishing Them

Seems like a pretty basic concept, right? Well, for some reason, it’s only been in the last few months that the idea of setting goals has made sense to me.

A while back I stumbled across NeverNiche.com and was inspired by her lists of monthly goals. Each month she sets new goals for herself, then recaps them at the end of the month to see how she did. I LOVE this idea. What a simple way to challenge myself and hold myself accountable. Plus, it’s WAY more fun to try to accomplish a goal, versus feeling like I have to do something. So I set a few small goals for myself for September (didn’t want to get too ambitious and burn out), and so far it’s going great! It gives me a whole new motivation for doing even mundane things – for example, doing the dishes after dinner every night, or putting my clothes away. Seems kind of ridiculous to set a goal to wash dishes, huh? But seriously, these are the kinds of things I need motivation for! And the goals are helping! I also have some fitness goals – 5 runs/week followed by push-ups and crunches (the latter of which I’m sucking at right now) – and some spiritual goals – Bible reading daily and more meditation/prayer. I think it would also be fun to set some goals to do social things, like get together with friends, have some folks over for dinner, etc. I’m learning that when I set a goal, I accomplish it. I end up getting way more done and trying/doing more things than I would otherwise (due to fears of failure/perfectionism/etc). Having a goal is the whole reason I got into running – because I wanted to finish a 5K.

What kind of goals have you set? Have you accomplished them? What holds you back from setting/following through on goals?

In other news, J and I had fun Saturday night trying to recreate some AMAAAZING guacamole we had at Boudro’s in San Antonio. They made it tableside so we got to see all the ingredients they put in. The secret? Orange juice!

Here’s what we put in: 1 avacado, the juice of 3 key limes, the juice of 1/4 an orange, about a Tbsp of fresh cilantro, about 1/8 a small white onion, and a couple Tbsp’s of premade salsa.

Mix and enjoy!

At this point it doesn’t look as appetizing so you’ll just have to take my word for it: it was incredible.

Happy Monday everyone!

Here’s what we put in: 1 avacado, the juice of 3 key limes, the juice of 1/4 an orange, about a Tbsp of fresh cilantro, about 1/8 a small white onion, and a couple Tbsp’s of premade salsa. Mix and enjoy!
  1. #1 by Clare on September 28, 2010 - 1:54 pm

    Honored that you stopped by my blog! Keep working at those goals!

    • #2 by seemelrun on September 28, 2010 - 2:25 pm

      Thanks Clare! Your posts are always inspiring and insightful.

Leave a Reply

