Fall is in the Air (I think).

It feels like fall has arrived – steak chili in the Crockpot, LSU football on TV…

You wouldn’t have guessed it yesterday though. It was hot! My pal Kristy and I met up for some iced chai’s and conversation at Java Junction. We were friends back in middle school and have recently reconnected (thanks Facebook! :-)). It’s been wonderful to see how far we’ve come, how our lives have changed, and share the beautiful common bond of sisterhood in Christ.

After tea time, we ended up deciding to go for a run. While I waited for Kristy to come over I ran some quick errands and snarfed down a great pre-run schnack of a pear topped with vanilla Greek yogurt, flax seed, and a seed/nut mix. Delish fuel!

We didn’t realize till we started how warm it was out! It was nearly 90 and we sure felt it. We ran the back country roads by my house which is so lovely and peaceful, though provides a healthy dose of hills. We kept the pace slow so we could run the whole thing in spite of the heat and ended up getting in 3.1 miles at 35 minutes.

Every time I run I feel like complete crap for about 15-20 minutes. But after some water and a shower I feel like I’m on top of the world. The “runner’s high” is so addictive. And thanks to a running break over vacation and my awesome chiropractor Grandpa, my last four runs have been pain-free! Praise God for that! Going through such terrible muscle pain and spasms makes me even more thankful to have two strong legs to run on. To help prevent any further problems I just ordered some new Zensah leg sleeves that I can’t wait to get in the mail! I’ll let y’all know what I think of them after I try ’em out.

Well, LSU halftime is over, so I’m off to cheer them on … Geaux Tigers!

  1. #1 by Kayla on September 19, 2010 - 11:07 pm

    I have a dairy allergy, so I can’t do the Greek yogurt business. But at the moment, I’m totally lusting over your yogurt bowl, HA!

    I feel you about the back country roads! There’s nothing like ’em. And I always think “these hills are SUCH good training!”.

Leave a Reply

